Fuxian Lake

(Guest post by McClain)  Fuxian Lake is the second deepest fresh water lake in China, it is approximately 155 meters deep and covers an area of 212 square Kilometers, quite a bit bigger than Lake Vermillion in Northern Minnesota, which is 158.9 square kilometers, and Fuxian Lake is much deeper than Lake Vermillion, which is only 23 meters deep.  During summer break Fuxian Lake is a popular tourist destination, but once school starts up again the only people you’ll see there are the locals.  My dad and I went right after the tourists left and it was nice, some parts of the lake had beaches, but not many because the sand isn’t native to the lake.

This is the island in the middle of the lake, it has a hotel , a temple, a dinning area, and some other things.

This is our ride to the island, the paddles seem very traditional but the metal canoe on the other hand seems very ugly.

Here I am walking down some treacherous stairs with my dad to get to the base of the island (where our boat awaits to take us back across the lake).

This is a picture of a pagoda on the island with the shore in the background.

The private beaches around the lake are covered in sand imported from other places (most likely the ocean) so some species native only to Fuxian Lake are in danger of extinction.

This is a picture of me eating “copper pot”  (a pot made of copper full of potatoes and rice) for the first time.  My dad and I both thought the dishes we ordered would go INTO the pot but it tuned out that they were all side dishes and ended up being way too much for us.

This is what was in the copper pot; sticky rice and potatoes.

Me on a beach with the island in the background.

A different beach with some metal canoes and the island in the background.

Me next to a rocky outcrop with half a sunflower in my hand (with seeds in it)

Here my dad is using me as an excuse to get a picture of this vehicle with an external motor (and I’m still eating sunflower seeds).

Picking seeds out of a fresh sunflower.

What looks like a pot with a Chinese farmers hat on it to some people (mainly me) is actually a pot full of rice (breakfast) to others.

All around the lake the shore looks pretty much like this (but that is just a guess, I only saw a small portion of the shoreline). While my dad and I were waiting for our ride back we sat here and admired the view of the island.

A picture of the beach, metal canoes, and the island.

The one and only picture of my dad, he’s standing next to a rocky outcrop

An archway that could have very well been a toll booth.

One of the many farms in the area.

Lake ShaoKao (fried meat). My dad and I only tried the orange bowl near the front (a bunch of little shrimpies fried together to make a bowl) my dad liked it a little but I can’t say that I liked it.

I’m buying some ShaoKao.

Lake ShaoKao is made up of shrimp on a stick, transparent fish on a stick (my favorite with extra peppers), plain fish on a stick, mini swordfish (Dad’s favorite) on a stick, hotdog on a stick, meat in a tube, shrimp bowl, potato bowl, and some other weird/yummy food.

Some delicious but really spicy fried potatoes with my new favorite spice dousing drink in the back ground.

3 responses to “Fuxian Lake

  1. I really like the beautiful photos. It was also very interesting and informative. I would have to say I hope this guest will blog often.

Leave a Reply

